top of page
Writer's pictureSara Molinara

Decluttering Your Wardrobe

Updated: Aug 18, 2020

Simple steps to organize your closet and, during the process, redefine your style!



When I was a little girl, I was awful at keeping my closet tidy. I would throw worn clothes on the floor and never put clean laundry away. One time, I was either nine or ten years old, my mother made Carmelina organize my wardrobe. I was supposed to be learning a lesson in organization, gathering tips from my older sister on how to keep my room neat. A nice thought theoretically, but in reality, Carmelina did the work as I played with my toys. I remember feeling smug as I watched my sister, bent over, cleaning my mess. It wasn't until a couple of days later that I felt the consequences for my actions. My mom had gifted my sister with tickets to see Owl City in concert. I was so jealous of my sister's reward. If I had known a concert was the exchange for keeping my room tidy, I would have found a way to do it on my own. Overall, my mother did teach me a lesson in cleanliness, as I was sure never to let Carmelina get rewarded for my mess. Now, the concert is a fond memory, and the song Fireflies a one-hit-wonder, Carmelina and I have made amends and even share the storage space.


 

In a recent video posted on our youtube channel, Carmelina and I go through our clothes to declutter our wardrobe. I find this act almost therapeutic. Each piece of clothing takes up some form of mental space. When you glide a dresser drawer open, each item you see carries an obligation - a promise to use that article of clothing. So, when you make the conscious decision to remove a garment from that list, you are freeing yourself from an unnecessary burden. It is empowering to make such a decision from which you give each article of clothing a purpose again. Whether you keep the clothes to wear yourself, sell the garments at a consignment shop, or even donate the pieces, they have a new-found purpose.


Watch our video to see our process and continue reading for helpful tips.


 

Tip #1 - Try on each piece of clothing that you can't recall wearing before making a decision. While doing so, ask yourself the following questions:


Do I like the way this piece makes me feel when wearing it?

Is there anything I can change about the garment to get more use of it?

Is this the right place to be keeping this item?

Do I know someone who may want this or get more value from it then if I were to keep it?


Tip #2 - Organize clothes into distinct piles as you make your way through your wardrobe.

The categories Carmelina and I use when sorting include:


Keep

Even if you know you love the item, take it off the hanger or out of the drawer and try it on! Not only will it remind you why you love that piece of clothing, but it will help to see the items you keep when the stack of clothes your decluttering gets larger.


Alterations

As you try on each article of clothing, see what demands mending. Maybe a pair of pants need hemming, or a blouse requires dry-cleaning. Some garments might be up-cycled. A dress that is snug at the hips might make a lovely top. A sweater you've grown tired of could become a trendy cardigan. Also, look for clothing that needs smaller adjustments. If pilling, a lint roller or fabric shaver will come in handy when giving your favourite shirt a second life.


Store Separately

When trying to create space in your wardrobe, keep seasonal and outerwear items in storage less accessible. There is no reason to keep a bulky sherpa sweater in the closet year-round. Instead, make room by storing such pieces in containers, placing them in hall closets or even under your bed.


Consignment

Once you have determined which clothes you are going to keep and which ones are not meant to be, look into consignment shops near you. It is crucial to know store policies before you go and how their credit system works. For instance, the shop Carmelina and I go to will not accept any formal wear, and they don't negotiate. Also, even though you are not keeping these items, it is still important to mend them. Using a fabric shaver and iron will enhance the garments' appearance and make the transaction worthwhile. Lastly, don't be discouraged if the store does not take every piece of clothing. Ask the sales associate the reasons for their choices. Maybe they have over-inventory in the products you offered. Or, it could be that your clothing doesn't match the trends of their consumers. Wait and try again. In a few months, they might be interested in those pieces. Also, try multiple locations and different stores.


In the video, Carmelina and I mentioned that we brought two bags of our clothing to Plato's Closet, a consignment shop in the GTA. From our trip, we made $98.50! If we can make money back from our used-clothing, anyone can do the same!


Donations

Once you have done what you can to sell your clothes, donate the unclaimed goods to local thrift stores. Even if you think a piece is damaged and therefore unsellable, giving it to a thrift store will ensure it goes through the proper recycling and waste disposal channels. Plus, you may receive a credit or discount!


Tip #3 - Find ways to optimize the space in your dressers and closet.

Once you have only what you want to keep of your clothing, the best practice is to reorganize your wardrobe in such a way that it will enhance your space and get the most use out of your clothes. Finding extra space will be different for each person and their wardrobe. Some will require hanging shelves, others will need vacuum-sealed garment bags.


 

Sometime during September, Carmelina and I look forward to adding to our wardrobe. We intend to make a video about the process and share tips on constructing basic outfits. Look forward to that video coming up, and begin placing bets on who demands more closet space!

Sincerely,


Sara Molinara

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarii


bottom of page