top of page
Writer's pictureSara Molinara

Mastering the Morning

Some days it's a little bit more than just rise and shine.



This past Sunday, I was able to share my morning with you all, providing a glimpse into my typical routine. There are still days when I am not as productive in the mornings as I would hope to be, especially if the night before I discovered a new Netflix show to binge. However this Sunday, I was able to take the time to complete everything on my checklist. Of course, like everything else, in life, I go forth with a fitting soundtrack! Listen to Motivated Mornings below, and be sure to favourite the playlist for future streaming.

Motivated Morning


The first thing I do every morning is make my bed, even if its 4:30 am, and I am stumbling in the dark to arrange my pillows before work. When I was younger, my mother insisted that my sisters and I made our beds before school and were not allowed back into our rooms until bedtime. Though it may appear trivial, the rule taught us a valuable lesson in organization and productivity. Instead of lying in bed only to get up a half-hour before class started, we would wake up early to prepare for the day, and when school let out, we do our homework at the dining room table. As we grew up and started high school, the rule dissipated, but this small habit of making our beds every morning stuck and made us productive adults.


“You know that feeling when you wake up in the morning, and you’re excited for the day? That’s one of my main goals in life.” – Kirsten Dunst

Watch the video here, or on our YouTube channel, Sara and Carm. Please be sure to click the like button if you enjoy this form of content and join the discussion in the comment section below. We would love to hear what you consider to be essential in your morning routine!


 

Having filmed this video, I noticed there are ways to improve my mornings and become a better version of myself. (I might even get an Apple Watch!) In general, I am still fine-tuning my schedule to utilize my time more effectively in the mornings. After all, there is always room for growth! Idealistically, I would wake up at 6 am, and not needing to hit the snooze button, begin making my bed. Unfortunately, the reality is that when I set my alarm at night, I have to leave my phone at the far end of my dresser to force myself out of bed in the morning to silence the ringer. And still, this tactic fails because when the alarm inevitably chimes, I sleepily get up, switch it off and climb back into the comfort of my bed. I firmly believe I need to be getting better sleep, with fewer distractions at my bedside. There is more to tackle than just my sleeping patterns, and I will use this post as a pledge to bettering myself!


Sincerely,

Sara

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page