top of page
Writer's pictureCarmelina Molinara

*Signature* Summer Sips

When the heat gets unbearable, it's time to get the cocktail shaker out!


Alcohol may be man's worst enemy, but the bible says love your enemy.” ― Frank Sinatra

It was the first Saturday of July, and I made Cosmos for an evening soiree. I have never made Cosmos, nor have I ever ordered one, so when I got the ingredients together, I was shocked to discover the cocktail called for vodka and not gin. With no time to go to the liquor store, I made my version of Cosmos - with gin. My family seemed to enjoy the concoction, so, I would consider them a complete success. The next day, my mom, having liked my spin on a Cosmo, announced that we should try making a different cocktail every week, and I accepted the challenge!

 

With the goal set for July and August, I set out to find new recipes that no one in the house has tried and ways to make them my own. The drinks I ended up recreating include the Sidecar, a Bourbon Peach Smash and a Limoncello Lady. Each beverage has a distinct taste and requires different liquors and mixers. Of course, many would prefer to have a drink made in its traditional form, but if you don't have a full bar cart and are willing to try something new, there is nothing wrong with tweaking a recipe.


For example, in a recent video where I made each drink, I didn't purchase Bourbon for the Peach Smash, but I did have a bottle of Crown Royal - Canadian Whiskey as a substitute. A Limoncello Lady typically calls for Limoncello, lemonade and Prosecco. Instead, I replaced the sparkling wine for club soda and a splash lime cordial effortlessly, making a refreshing citrus cocktail on a whim.


Watch the full video here and continue reading for tips on stocking a bar cart.



As mentioned in the video, the first thing to invest in is a well-made mixing set. The one we had purchased on Amazon came with the shaker, a strainer, a muddler, ice tongs, a bar spoon, a multi-tool bottle opener, a bottle spout, and a double-side jigger. With a set such as this one, you now have the tools necessary to start bartending and can begin gathering the spirits needed to maintain a well-stocked bar cart.


If you are aiming for a nightclub level of entertaining, at least one bottle of each of the six base liquors will create a well-rounded bar. The six base liquors are Brandy, Gin, Rum, Tequila, Vodka, and Whiskey. Alongside the essential liquors, you should also have a couple of popular liqueurs on hand - Amaretto, Aperol and Cointreau being some of the most versatile. Of course, if it is not your intention to be entertaining, but mainly want to develop a personal selection, your bar cart should be stocked based on individual preferences. Lastly, you will also need a variety of mixers and garnishes. The basic mixers include lemon and lime juice, cranberry juice, tomato juice, tonic water, club soda, cola soda and lemon-lime soda. Also, be sure to have citrus slices, fresh herbs, maraschino cherries salt and sugar for garnish. To help, I prepared a shopping list should you like the suggestions given in the video.





Have fun exploring new flavours and techniques, but be sure to drink responsibly!


Cheers,


Carmelina


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page