top of page
Writer's pictureCarmelina Molinara

Overnight Oats for Overrated Mornings

Updated: Aug 18, 2020

Three tasty recipes to uncomplicate the early hours!


When August approaches, I use the last month of summer to prepare for the season ahead. I know, preparing for fall when summer doesn't technically end until September 22. Yet, the season comes with so many changes naturally that I like to tackle some before it even begins. To me, fall means having morning commutes with less sunshine and the way home just as dark. The days get shorter, and when Daylight Savings comes around, I am so much in a frenzy that I can't catch a breath until Boxing Day! Maybe these are the rantings of a typical over-doer, but there is a method in my madness.


See, it is during August that I start brainstorming a more productive September. September is an excellent month for renewals, which makes August the perfect time for trial and error. Finding what works and implementing it for the month to follow. In the Molinara household, the mornings are especially a source of chaos. With a family of six trying to get ready in the a.m., never a day passes when we don't wish for more time. It is this reason why I am always trying to find ways to make the early hours less stressful. The most effective time-saver I discovered was meal prepping.


For me, cold oats are the most convenient form of meal preparation, but I continually need new flavours to be interested in the breakfast item. As I prepare for fall, I test out new recipes to ensure my family and I will enjoy them and continue to tweak the ingredients throughout August. In a recent video, I made three flavours of overnight oats - PB & J, Cinnamon Roll and Carrot Cake.



Like always, the S+C Recipe Cards are available for you to save and enjoy at a later date.



My favourite of the three was the Cinnamon Roll Oats, and it seemed that the rest of the family enjoyed the others as well. As we ate them over the week, I realized the Carrot Cake option could use a half a teaspoon of brown sugar and that the PB & J needed a bit more jam for those in the family with a sweeter tooth (read: Sara). I might try making a "Funky Monkey" flavoured cold oats to have on my belt when Fall comes around, and the mornings seem to slip away.


Talk again soon,


Carmelina

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page