top of page
Writer's pictureSara Molinara

Welcome to The Book Club

Updated: Aug 6, 2020

Follow along for inspired reads monthly.

Whenever I start a new book, there is always the initial thrill of falling into the novel's universe - the gradual slip where I slowly let go of reality and become consumed by the new world around me. No matter how exciting the feeling is, still, I find myself re-reading the same book because I prefer to revisit the same story for the familiarity of its characters and setting rather than begin a new one. I don't know if I can say the same for my sister, Carmelina, but for me, it's almost like I found a place for myself in their universe.


“Once you have read a book you care about, some part of it is always with you.” – Louis L’Amour

It is for this reason that I am excited to announce that S + C is starting a book club! Every month we will be reading a new novel of our choice and reviewing the book at the start of the following month. From the book club, I am hoping to learn more about different writing genres and explore new worlds. I want to step out of my comfort zone and experience different styles of writing.


In our review, Carmelina and I will be discussing several questions as it relates to the novel's plot, character development, symbolism and general thoughts and opinions. You are welcome to save a copy of the question sheet we have created (shown below) to follow along with us, or, use them for separate reading activities. The books we cover will range from classics to new releases, personal favourites and even suggestions from you, the viewer. A video will be released monthly on YouTube, but we also created a forum on the site. So sign up and become a member of the S + C family to be a part of the discussion online!


The Discussion Guide


The questions we thought of help to keep the template general so that it will apply to any book. Some questions address the novel's plot development, and others refer to its characters. Of course, we want to make this experience welcoming to the community as a whole, so if there are questions you would like us to include either suggest them in the comment box below or start a thread in the forum! Our main goal is to start an engaging conversation rooted in the shared interest of reading.


Book of the Month


This month's book is Big Summer by Jennifer Weiner. The novel promises "a disastrous wedding on picturesque Cape Cod" as Daphane Berg, a plus-size influencer, re-connects with her high school friend, Drue Cavanaugh, and uncovers some of the Cavanaugh's family secrets. Weiner is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of seventeen books, including Good in Bed, In Her Shoes, and, most recently, Mrs. Everything. Big Summer is the first book I will have read of Jennifer's collection, and I am interested in seeing how Weiner will address the themes of female friendship, family and self-identity. I am also curious to discover how Jennifer approaches body image through the lens of a plus-size model.


You can watch our quick introduction of the book club down below.


And if you are following along, the next book club "meeting" will be on Thursday, July 2nd, which is when Carmelina and I will be sharing our thoughts of Big Summer and introducing the second novel.


Sincerely,

Sara


22 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page